5 Reiki Principles

The 5 Reiki principles are meant to be ideals that you strive toward to add balance and peace to your life. It’s impossible to live every moment within these principles.

Nevertheless, you may continue to improve how you manage your thoughts and actions each day so that your actions over time will become a natural way of being.

  1. Just for today, I will trust.
  2. Just for today, I will love.
  3. Just for today, I will do my work honestly.
  4. Just for today, I will give thanks for my many blessings.
  5. Just for today, I will be kind to my neighbor and every living thing.

Reading the principles in the morning and evening may be helpful for focusing on these ideals. You could also carry them with you or have them visible in a place you visit often.

The 5 principles will have different meanings for everyone. You may wish to meditate on the principles to see what they mean for you.

You can also focus on the energy of each principle and what it feels like. Holding the intention is more important than the semantics of the principles.

Want to learn more about the Reiki principles? Get your Reiki: Level I, II, and Master Manual here!